Scanface Step 2: getting in touch with your heroes.

Before coming to London, I sent an email to one of my photographers of reference: Joan Fontcuberta. I strongly recommend to take a look at his work at www.fontuberta.com.

He accepted to be part of the project, but I had to come back to Barcelona. I wanted to go further with the project, so I bought an Epson Photo Perfection V30.

In addition, to have more documentation about the project, I started recording the sessions and taking pictures of the process.

Joan Fontcuberta

Scanface Fontcuberta

And to take advantage of the journey, I wanted to use this excuse to get in touch with another of my heroes:

Quimi Portet is a surreal catalan singer. I tweeted him, and he answered. He was curious about the effect that the scanner do in faces.

Quimi Portet

Scanface QUIMI PORTET

And Miguel Noguera, a Post-humour comedian.

Miguel Noguera scanface session

Scanface Miguel Noguera

But beyond knowing them and using my new scanner, the most interesting thing was a detail that pointed Joan Fontcuberta: the focal lenght of the images taken with the new scanner. THAT WILL BE THE NEXT STEP IN MY PROJECT: NOT JUST DISTORTING IMAGES, BUT PLAYING WITH THE DEPTH.

Leave a Reply

